Browns and Ravens Add the Most BCS Championship Winners

The Browns signed undrafted free agent defensive end William Green, who blocked a punt that set up a touchdown against Kentucky in October of Florida’s championship run of 2008.

The also added 6’3″, 237 lb. tight end Brad Smelley and – of course – Heisman finalist RB Trent Richardson from Alabama’s BCS Champoionship teams.

The Ravens got BCS Champion DE Courtney Upshaw in the draft, and added Florida QB John Brantley (181 yards, 3 TD, 1 INT in 2008) WR Deonte Thompson (269 receiving yards and 3 TDs in 2008) and Alabama OL Alfred McCullough.

As for other champions, the 2011 black college football national champion Winston-Salem State, RB Nic Cooper (Packers) signed as an undrafted free agent. The 2009 champions were South Carolina State, and their SS Christian Thompson was drafted in the 4th round by the Ravens, while the Jaguars inked FS Donovan Richard as an undrafted free agent.

Division III Stag Bowl Champion Wisconsin-Whitewater (2009-2011 champs) did not produce any NFL talent this year.

2011 FCS Champions North Dakota State did not produce any NFL talent this year.

2011 Walter Payton Award winner and 2010 FCS Champion Eastern Washington QB Bo Levi Mitchell has signed with the Calgary Stampeders in the CFL. The Cowboys selected EWU SS Matt Johnson in the 4th round.

Hit “Like” or the Facebook share button if you like some of these players with championship swagger!

Follow me at:

More recent posts:
Darrelle Revis Still Feels Disrespected By Belichick
Hall of Fame 49ers, Raiders Strong Safety Ronnie Lott Joins Pac-12 Networks
G.J. Kinne and the Jets
Brett Favre Trained New Packers Quarterback
Check Out Colt Brennan At Practice For Saskatchewan Roughriders
The Future Is Now: Rookie Camp Pics

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to NFL Gridiron Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Comments are closed.