Sanders, Dent, Faulk Among Seven Selected For Hall Of Fame

Prime Time Was The Best Shutdown CB Of All Time

Deion Sanders and Richard Dent led a class of seven voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.  Joining the two superstar defenders were: Shannon Sharpe, Marshall Faulk, Ed Sabol (NFL Films founder), Les Richter and Chris Hanburger.

“I’m excited. These guys — are you kidding me? It’s hard to describe,” Sanders said. “To be held up in high regard, to this standard … I am honored.”

“Neon Deion” let his personality and sense of humor shine like he always did, and still does, while talking about Faulk and Sharpe.

“Man, this is real,” he said, “and I got to see Marshall Faulk and Shannon Sharpe cry.”

As for Dent, the Super Bowl XX MVP for arguably the best team ever, the ’85 Chicago Bears, he put some perspective on his selection into Canton.

“It was a long time coming, I am very happy,” Dent said. “If you can do your thing the way [Walter Payton] did his, you can be in the Hall of Fame. I am so thankful for this.”

The finalists who did not get in were Cris Carter, Jerome Bettis, Curtis Martin, Dermontti Dawson, Cortez Kennedy, Andre Reed and Willie Roaf.

Induction ceremonies are Aug. 6 in Canton, Ohio.

Interesting tidbit: Marshall Faulk is one of four players to win the AP’s Offensive Rookie of the Year, Offensive Player of the Year and MVP Awards. All four — Faulk, Barry Sanders, Marcus Allen and Earl Campbell — are now Hall of Famers.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to NFL Gridiron Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

One Response to “Sanders, Dent, Faulk Among Seven Selected For Hall Of Fame”

  1. Ann says:

    Go the Packers, amazing to get to the Superbowl from wild card.