Carter, Green And Tagliabue Among Hall Of Fame Finalists


First-year eligible stars Cris Carter and Darrell Green joined former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue on the list of 17 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2008. Tagliabue was on the list last year, but wasn’t elected when the final vote came down in February. Carter, an eight-time Pro Bowler, racked up 13,899 receiving yards and 130 touchdowns over 16 seasons with the Eagles, Vikings and Dolphins. Green had 54 interceptions in 20 seasons with the Redskins.

The other players on the finals list are defensive ends Fred Dean and Richard Dent, wide receivers Art Monk and Andre Reed, linebackers Randy Gradishar, Derrick Thomas and Andre Tippet, offensive linemen Russ Grim, Bob Kuechenberg, Randall McDaniel and Gary Zimmerman and punter Ray Guy. That list increased to 17 finalist nominees with the inclusion of the two recommended candidates of the Hall of Fame’s Seniors Committee. Those players are Marshall Goldberg, a multi-purpose back who starred with the Chicago Cardinals, and cornerback Emmitt Thomas, who played 13 seasons for the Kansas City Chiefs. The class of 2008 will be announced on Saturday, February 2nd, the day prior to Super Bowl 42.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to NFL Gridiron Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Comments are closed.