CBS Sports Network Will Carry the 2012 Season of UFL Football


With two of its players already in NFL training camps – Soul/Eagles WR Tiger Jones and Force/Lions QB R.J. Archer – and ArenaBowl XXV kicking off in less than 24 hours, Arena Football League is about to pass the 2012 torch to another professional football league of players wanting to join the NFL: The UFL.

The UFL is back with a 4-team, 8 week schedule. I’ve heard that CBS Sports Network will be airing the entire season. My thinking is that they will play some of these tape delay because they still have rights to Conference USA college football and those get higher ratings. They may have scheduled around it. The deal is for 2 years.

The Virginia Destroyers will have Gerald Carr as head coach. Bart Andrus is head coach of the Omaha Nighthawks. Turk Schonert will indeed be the new head coach, offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach of the Sacramento Mountain Lions with Larry Zierling, OL Coach; James MacPherson, RB Coach; Ben Norton, TE Coach & Asst. OL Coach; Harold Jackson, WR Coach; Chuck Bresnahan, Defensive Coordinator; Kerry Locklin, DL coach; Bobby DePaul, Linebackers & Dir. of Player Personal; Rick Courtright, DB Coach, Special Teams coordinator; Fabien Bownes, Asst. Special Teams & Off. Asst.

There will be a 5th UFL team in 2013. Former Mountain Lions coach Dennis Green has sued the UFL for $1 million in unpaid salary.

The USFL plans to start in 2013, with 14 teams in non-NFL, non-MLB markets.

Here is the 2012 UFL schedule.

Week 1 (all kickoffs ET)

Wednesday, Sept. 19: Sacramento Mountain Lions at Las Vegas Locomotives, 9 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 21: Virginia Destroyers at Omaha Nighthawks, 7 p.m.

Week 2

Wednesday, Sept. 26: Virginia at Las Vegas, 9 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 28: Omaha at Sacramento, 11 p.m.

Week 3

Wednesday, Oct. 3: Omaha at Las Vegas, 9 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 5: Sacramento at Virginia, 7 p.m.

Week 4

Wednesday, Oct. 10: Las Vegas at Sacramento, 9 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 12: Virginia at Omaha, 7 p.m.

Week 5

Wednesday, Oct. 17: Las Vegas at Omaha, 9 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 19: Sacramento at Virginia, 9 p.m.

Week 6* (games Tuesday and Thursday)

Tuesday, Oct. 23: Sacramento at Omaha, 9 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 25: Las Vegas at Virginia, 6 p.m.

Week 7

Wednesday, Oct. 31: Omaha at Las Vegas, 9 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 2: Virginia at Sacramento, 9 p.m.

Week 8

Wednesday, Nov. 7: Las Vegas at Sacramento, 9 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 9: Omaha at Virginia, 9:30 p.m.

CHAMPIONSHIP GAME

Friday, Nov. 16. Site to be determined, 9 p.m.

Hit “Like” or the Facebook share button if you’re glad to see UFL players getting another chance.


Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to NFL Gridiron Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to del.icio.us  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

5 Responses to “CBS Sports Network Will Carry the 2012 Season of UFL Football”

  1. JerrodMitchell says:

    I never heard of this “UFL”, but I’m not opposed to minor-league or semi-pro football.

  2. Dennis Justice says:

    The story is factually wrong. The USFL is attempting to start in the spring of 2014, but with eight teams playing a 14 game schedule.

  3. chris says:

    Marty Schottenheimer is the head coach of the Virginia destroyers…