Foster, unaware why his catch was not considered a TD
When Arian Foster caught, came to possession and then used the ball to break his fall in the second quarter on Sunday against the Chargers, Texans’ fans immediately remembered the so called “Calvin Johnson rule” of 2010. After review, the referees held that the catch was an incomplete pass. The Texans went on to lose the game 29-23, missing six points from a crucial and highly debatable touchdown reception. Following the game, Arian Foster said he was unaware of such a rule that he could not use the ball to break his fall.
On the play, the former NFL Vice President of Officiating, Mike Pereira, wrote on FoxSports.com:
“In my opinion, the ruling of touchdown should not have been reversed and this call seemed to change the complexion of the game…Foster was on his way to the ground and reached out with the ball in his right hand to make sure that he had broken the plane. This is the ’second act’ that the league has referred to in the past.”
In my opinion, the “Calvin Johnson rule” is too broad and has too many holes for a contemplating referee to fall into. The NFL should mandate a set of suggestive guidelines for how to approach these situations in the future. This isn’t pee-wee football. There’s a lot of money on the line, and there’s no room for foul interpretation of the rules.