Titans RB Johnson Wins the 2009 NFL Offensive Player of the Year Award

Offensive Player Football
The NFL awards continue to be announced, and today to no surprise, Titans back Chris Johnson has been awarded The Associated Press 2009 NFL Offensive Player of the Year award. All Johnson did in 2009 was set a league mark for yards from scrimmage (2,509) and become the sixth player with a 2,000-yard rushing season.

He is the first NFL player to finish with at least 2,000 yards rushing and 500 receiving (503). hat earned the second-year pro 38 1/2 votes Wednesday from a nationwide panel of 50 sports writers and broadcasters who cover the NFL. Johnson easily beat New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees, who received nine votes.

“I kind of realize what I did and I feel like I had a dream season,” said Johnson, who scored 16 touchdowns (14 rushing), second to Minnesota’s Adrian Peterson, and tied the NFL mark with six consecutive games rushing for at least 125 yards.

Johnson still though had something to say about being passed over for the NFL MVP award, which went Saturday to Colts QB Peyton Manning, who won it for an NFL record 4th time.

“I didn’t even get one vote at all (for MVP),” Johnson said. “Like the season I had, it seemed like, `What more do they want me to do?’ That just felt like rookie of the year; it’s a quarterback thing I guess.”

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to NFL Gridiron Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to del.icio.us  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Comments are closed.