Smith, Sharpe Headline Football Hall of Fame Finalists

Defensive end Bruce Smith, tight end Shannon Sharpe and defensive back Rod Woodson headline the list of 17 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2009. The trio, along with defensive tackle John Randle, are each in their first year of eligibility.

Nine other modern-era players, including wide receivers Cris Carter and Andre Reed, were also named finalists. The Class of 2009 will consist of between four-to-seven new members and be determined at the Selection Committee’s annual meeting on Saturday, January 31st in Tampa, Florida.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to NFL Gridiron Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Comments are closed.