Carter, Green Among Hall of Fame Finalists

Cris CarterDarrell Green
Of the 17 finalists eligible for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame this year, wide receiver and cornerback Darrell Green are the only first-year eligible players; the Hall’s Board of Selectors will announce the Class of 2008 Saturday (tomorrow).

An 8-time Pro Bowl participant, Carter had 1,110 receptions for 13,899 and 130 touchdowns during a 16-year career with the Philadelphia Eagles, Minnesota Vikings and Miami Dolphins; his touchdown total ranks fifth all-time and in 2000, became only the second player in NFL history to record 1,000 receptions. Green spent his entire 20-year career with the as a member of the Washington Redskins and is widely considered to be one of the best cornerbacks ever to play the game; he registered 54 interceptions during his career – 6 of those returned for touchdowns. Retiring at the age of 42 following the 2002 season, Green also helped the Redskins win a pair of Super Bowls.

The other modern-day finalists are: linebackers Derrick Thomas, Andre Tippett and Randy Gradishar; defensive ends Richard Dent and Fred Dean; guards Bob Kuechenberg and Randall McDaniel and tackle Gary Zimmerman; wide receiver Andre Reed and punter Ray Guy. Also included on the finalist list are former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue – on the ballot as the contributor finalist – while the Senior Committee nominees are Emmitt Thomas of the Kansas City Chiefs and halfback Marshall Goldberg of the Chicago Cardinals. A minimum of 4 candidates and a maximum of 7 can be selected for induction.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to NFL Gridiron Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Comments are closed.