Vikings’ Peterson Named Offensive Rookie Of The Year

Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson
In the greatest landslide since the late Ronald Reagan defeated Walter Mondale, ESPN reports that Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson easily won The Associated Press NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year. Of the 50 media members eligible to vote for this award, Peterson received 46 1/2 votes – the remaining 3 1/2 went to Cleveland Browns offensive tackle Joe Thomas.

Peterson, the main reason for the Vikings’ improvement this season, rushed for and led the NFC with 1,341 yards and 13 touchdowns; what’s most impressive is that he achieved these stats in only 14 games. Also you have to consider that Peterson didn’t start for the Vikings until Game 6. Peterson is the 5th Minnesota Viking to win this award; previous winners were: Paul Flatley (WR) in 1967, Chuck Foreman (RB) in 1973, Sammy White (WR) in ’76 and Randy Moss (WR) in 1998.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to NFL Gridiron Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Comments are closed.