2008 NFL Draft Order

National Football League
As is stands right now, unless deals are made between now and Draft Day, this is the official 2008 NFL Draft order:

1 Miami Dolphins
2 St. Louis Rams
3 Atlanta Falcons #
4 Oakland Raiders #
5 Kansas City Chiefs #
6 New York Jets
7 New England Patriots (formerly San Francisco 49ers)
8 Baltimore Ravens
9 Cincinnati Bengals
10 New Orleans Saints
11 Buffalo Bills
12 Denver Broncos
13 Carolina Panthers
14 Chicago Bears
15 Detroit Lions
16 Arizona Cardinals
17 Minnesota Vikings
18 Houston Texans
19 Philadelphia Eagles
20 Tampa Bay Buccaneers *
21 Washington Redskins *
22 Cleveland Browns
23 Seattle Seahawks *
24 Pittsburgh Steelers *
25 Tennessee Titans *
26 New York Giants *
27 San Diego Chargers *
28 Jacksonville Jaguars *
29 Green Bay Packers *
30 Dallas Cowboys *
31 Indianapolis Colts *
32 New England Patriots *

* — Subject to playoffs
# — Subject to coin flip

There’s plenty of provisions as to how the draft order came out this way. Read below for detailed explanations.

Priority of playoff clubs within a tied segment is based on their advancement in the playoffs, but they do not drop out of their tied segment unless they participate in the Super Bowl. The Super Bowl champion will select 32nd and the runner-up 31st.

Atlanta, Kansas City, and Oakland had the same strength-of-schedule. Since Kansas City finished third in the AFC West and the Raiders fourth (the tie was broken on the basis of the Chiefs’ 3-11 record in common games while the Raiders were 2-12), the Raiders will draft ahead of the Chiefs. Atlanta and Oakland will flip a coin for the third position; if Atlanta wins, the Falcons will draft third, the Raiders fourth, and the Chiefs fifth. If the Raiders win the coin flip, they will draft third, and the Falcons and Chiefs will flip a coin to determine the fourth and fifth positions.

Though Buffalo and Denver had the same strength-of-schedule, their tie for the 11th and 12th positions was broken by the conference tiebreaker. Since the Broncos defeated the Bills in head-to-head competition, Buffalo is given priority in the draft order and will select in the 11th position, with Denver in the 12th position.

Though Chicago and Detroit had the same strength-of-schedule, their tie for the 14th and 15th positions was broken by the divisional tiebreaker. Since the Lions defeated the Bears twice in head-to-head competition, Chicago is given priority in the draft order and will select in the 14th position, with Detroit in the 15th position.

Since Cleveland is not in the playoffs, the Browns have priority in the draft ahead of playoff teams with the same record.

Clubs involved in two-club ties will alternate positions from round-to-round. In ties that involve three or more clubs, the club at the top of a tied segment in a given round will move to the bottom of the segment for the next round, while all other clubs in the segment move up one position. This rotation continues throughout the draft.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to NFL Gridiron Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to del.icio.us  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

One Response to “2008 NFL Draft Order”

  1. Russ Loede says:

    Ain’t Cleveland’s pick now Dallas’ pick?